San Beda College and College of Saint Benilde blanked San Sebastian College-Recoletos and University of Perpetual Help, respectively, to seize a share of the lead in the NCAA Season 92 Chess Tournament held at the Jose Rizal University, Mandaluyong City.

Mari Joseph Turqueza, Alcon John Datu, McDominique Lagula and Dave Patrick Dulay provided the victories for the Red Lions while Nelson Busa, Jr., Daryl Unix Samantila, Prince Kenneth Reyes and Charles Daniel Abuzo delivered the wins for the Blazers to hike their total to 7.5 points.

Defending back-to-back champion Arellano University edged last year’s second placer Lyceum of the Philippines University, 2.5-1.5, to slide to No. 3 with 6.5 points in this event organized by a Management Committee group headed by Jose Rizal University’s Paul Supan.

Kyz Llantada and Joshua Arias came through with triumphs on boards one and four while Don Tyrone delos Santos drew with Jhoemar Mendiogarin on board three to seal the Chiefs’ win over the Pirates.

Romulo Curioso, Jr.’s win over Carlo Caranyagan on board two prevented LPU from suffering further damage.

LPU slid to a share of fourth with Letran on identical 5.5 points after the latter turned back Jose Rizal U, 2.5-1.5, on wins by Paul Christian Barroga over Paul Leo Rodriguez on board two and Marco Jay Mabasa against Jonathan Trajano on board four.

In Juniors’ Chess Division, Letran routed Jose Rizal U, 3-1, to remain on top with seven points while San Beda College bashed San Sebastian College, 3-1, to stay at second with 6.5 points.

Arellano U survived LPU, 2.5-1.5, to stay at No. 3 with 5.5 points.