San Beda made a big splash on the pool as it swept the men’s, women’s and juniors divisions in the 92nd NCAA swimming competition at the Rizal Pool Center in Manila over the weekend.
The Sea Lions extended their reign for the 15 straight seasons after amassing 1,467 points while the Sea Lionesses claimed their fifth straight women’s crown after garnering 1300 points.
The Sea Cubs, for their part, took the high school championship after gaining 1037.5 points and unseating the Junior Blazers, who have reigned supreme for 11 straight seasons before conceding it this year.
Joshua Junsay topped the 100-meter and 200m butterfly before spearhead the team of Jenkins Lorenzo Labao, Jospeh Badura and Jason Villaruz to the 4x50m freestyle relay gold medal to emerge the men’s MVP for the third straight year.
“We’re proud of what the team achieved,” said NCAA Management Committee chair Jose Mari Lacson of San Beda.
La Salle-Greenhills’ Miguel Karlo Balisan took the juniors MVP while St. Benilde’s Maria Aresa Lipat bagged the women’s MVP for the fifth season in row.