By Joey Villar (
MANILA, Philippines – Mapua’s Allwell Oraeme made up for his team’s failed title bid by snaring the Most Valuable Player award trophy for the second straight season.

Oraeme, who won the highest individual plum last year on his rookie season, also took the Defensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row after he averaged 16 points, a league fifth best, a league-best 20 rebounds and 2.4 blocks (second) a game.

The 6-9 Nigerian garnered a total of 65.12 MVP statistical points as he edged Arellano U’s spitfire guard jio Jalalon, who could only muster 57.50 points on norms of 21.1 points (first), six boards, 7.4 assists (first) and 2.3 steals (first).

Oraeme said he was happy with the award although he would be happier if they get past the Final Four next season.

“I’m thankful of this but it would be more of a blessing for me if we could improve next year,” said the 20-year-old Oraeme.

Jalalon though consoled himself with a second straight Mythical First team selection where he and Oraeme were joined by Perpetual Help’s Bright Akhuetie, San Beda’s Donald Tankoua and Emilio Aguinaldo’s Hamadou Laminou.

Sportshub ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Lyceum of the Phl U’s Mike Nzeusseu edged Arellano U’s Lervin Flores for the Rookie of the Year plum while Tankoua, who played only 11 games after suffering a season-ending ACL injury early in the second round, was awarded Most Improved Player.

In the juniors’ division, La Salle-Greenhills’ Troy Mallillin emerged MVP after edging San Beda’s Sam Abu Hijle and Arellano U’s Guillmer dela Torre.

San Beda’s Joshua Tagala and Arellano U’s Aaron Fermin joined Mallinllin, Abu Hijle and dela Torre in the first Mythical Team.

Fermin was also named Rookie of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year awardee while Tagala the Most Improved Player.