Seniors Division
Arellano University clinched its second straight NCAA Seniors Chess Title by edging Lyceum of the Philippines University in a tie break at the PSC Athletes Dining Hall inside the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex. Kyz Llantada defeated Jan Mirana on top board to force a 2-2 draw but his win proved to be decisive as it was used to break the deadlock, sealing the Chiefs their back-to-back chess championships. Tyrone delos Santos provided the other point for the Rudy Ibanez-mentored Arellano side on board three and was later adjudged Most Valuable Player. “Our hard work paid off. The players prayed and worked hard just to retain the championship,” said Ibanez.

Juniors Division
San Beda, for its part, secured its first ever juniors crown by sweeping both rounds it capped with a 2.5-1.5 min. Red Cub John Philip Oncita tool the high school MVP plum. LPU took three of the six gold medals at stake with Jonathan Jota (Board 4), Romulo Glorioso (Board 5) and Walt Allen Talan (Board 6) while Arellano’s Don Tyrone Delos Santos topped Board 4. San Beda’s Alcon John Datu and Letran’s Melwyn Kenneth Baltazar also won golds in Board 2 and 1, respectively.